Doc AN Airworthiness Manual. Volume I. Organization and Procedures. Approved by the Secretary General and published under his authority. The Airworthiness Manual (Doc ) was first published in in two volumes and contained a consolidation of airworthiness-related information previously. Doc AN Airworthiness Manual. Volume II. Design Certification and. Continuing Airworthiness. Approved by the Secretary General.

Author: Fektilar Branris
Country: Chad
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Business
Published (Last): 17 December 2008
Pages: 457
PDF File Size: 1.44 Mb
ePub File Size: 7.99 Mb
ISBN: 138-3-89572-762-6
Downloads: 70748
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Grokazahn

Furthermore, there is no single, internationally recognized organization that sets standards or harmonizes the military airworthiness and aviation requirements of MAAs. The government statutory authority in each country that oversees the approval and regulation of civil aviation. Limitations and Constraints 4. airworhhiness

For the purposes of this advisory, recognition is defined as the process by which an AA assesses and airworthinss another AA as being a competent regulator, empowered with the necessary authority, infrastructure, resources and mechanisms to ensure aviation safety.

The generic term for any of the following: It remains the responsibility of the TAA to account for any differences in standards and processes, and to decide how any identified gaps are to be managed. There are currently a number of initiatives aimed at harmonizing the approach to airworthiness regulation between MAAs and for achieving mutual recognition.

It may be necessary to develop limitations and conditions associated with the recognition, based upon risk assessment of any gaps in documentation or information. For the purpose of this advisory, an airworthiness artefact is a work product from a military or civil airworthiness authority.

Reference should also be airworthinesw to M. Timely response is required where airworthiness is affected, which means devising and provisioning rectification action, airwrothiness promulgating the necessary information to restore safety levels. A recognition does not expire. Cranfield University Content control: Recognition can be unilateral, bilateral or multilateral. Common to the mahual between these agencies is the use of a standardized assessment tool, based on ICAO documents references g.

Continuing Airworthiness – SKYbrary Aviation Safety

While the review process includes both a desktop and an onsite review, the output of the desktop review can be sufficiently comprehensive to preclude the requirement for the onsite review.

Once the regulatory Section Heads have completed their reviews, they provide a summary of their findings to DTAES 2, who collates them into a preliminary report. The ultimate responsibility for continued airworthiness is assigned in ICAO Annex 8 to the State of Design but the programme to achieve continuing airworthiness is a matter for the State of Registry. For example, for most military organizations, operational effectiveness is paramount and, therefore, aviation safety objectives must be balanced against the need to accept higher levels of risk wherever operational circumstances dictate.


The recognition process follows four basic phases:. Continuing Airworthiness is therefore not just the maintenance of aircraft and equipment, but also involves monitoring performance of products in service. When granting recognition, the TAA will specify any associated terms or condition.

Cranfield University Publication Authority: While MAAs may closely align with many of the international civilian airworthiness processes, by necessity, military aviation has a different risk context and will employ military design standards. Information is provided related to:. Key coordinated efforts have been sponsored by:.


If you wish to contribute or participate in the discussions about articles you are invited to join SKYbrary as a registered user. The national military airworthiness authority of a state responsible for the airworthiness of the military aircraft of airworrhiness state. In the words of ICAO:. This also includes acceptance of FAA organizational roc related to maintenance, design, manufacturing and materiel support services for civil-derived aeronautical products.

TAM Part 2, Chapter 5 — Type Design Examination TDE describes the rules and standards for the acceptance of work performed, and airworthiness artefacts issued, by other airworthiness authorities in relation to initial type certification or major design change approval. Although the owner bears the legal responsibility for continuing airworthiness, there is very much a shared responsibility between:. Furthermore, TAA recognition of another AA neither implies, nor requires, that the authority must make any changes to their airworthiness management systems as a result of the recognition.

Recognition — Civil Aviation Authorities 4. This is an approved organisation responsible for implementation of continuing airworthiness management tasks. Terms, conditions and sustainment requirements are normally articulated in a recognition certificate and the supporting documentation.

To enable the provisions of these two TAM chapters, airworthkness is a requirement to identify the other regulatory authorities that are 7960 to the TAA and detail the methodology used to establish acceptability.


Airworthiness Directive

Continuing Airworthiness management is the process by which an aircraft is kept in a condition where it remains airworthy throughout its life – or in other wordsi.

The process by which the TAA will undertake this recognition could include: The recognition plan can be used to provide the rationale for a direct recognition, without completion of the MARQ or an onsite evaluation.

This standardized assessment tool has been tailored for the military context and takes the form of a question set called the Military Authorities Recognition Question set MARQ reference i.

Other military regulators may be organized differently, for example: For the DND TAA and the Technical Airworthiness Program, this relates to airworthiness certification, production oversight and airworthiness inspection continuing airworthiness. Retrieved from ” https: The process used by the TAA for establishing acceptability of the work and artefacts of another airworthiness regulatory authority is called recognition.

The scope of recognition is limited to those airworthiness functions that fall within the assigned responsibility of the respective AA.

DTAES 2 maintains a record of individual evaluator findings and coordinates with the AA being assessed to build a schedule for the onsite review. The report provides an overall assessment of acceptability and identifies any areas that require clarification through an onsite review. The process by which the TAA will undertake this recognition could include:.

Examples may include any of the following: Recognition, therefore, does not transfer any legal responsibilities from the TAA to the recognized AA. It is useful to compare Continued and Continuing as they are sometimes used interchangeably.

TAM Part 1, Chapter 4 — Assignment of Technical Airworthiness Authority describes the rules and standards for determining the acceptability of organizations that have been assigned airworthiness management roles or airworthiness functions by a regulatory authority other than the TAA.

The four sub-sections are:. As stated in para 4. For each of its aircraft, the approved CAMO is required to carry out dof following functions.